Select Page

Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments, or Decalogue (Greek, “ten words”), are divine laws revealed to Moses by God on Mount Sinai and engraved on two stone tablets. Appearing in both Exodus (Exodus 20: 2-17) and Deuteronomy (Deuteronomy 5:6-21), as well as in the Book of Mormon (Mosiah 12:32-37; 13:12-24), the commandments are numbered differently depending on whether they appear in a Catholic, Protestant, or Hebrew Bible.

Mormon Ten CommandmentsThey are featured prominently in Judaism and Christianity. The commandments are divided into duties toward God, one’s neighbors, and society. Their prescriptive and unconditional language indicates their important status. They function as general stipulations decreed by God as part of God’s covenant with the people of Israel.  Mormon doctrine teaches that these commandments are still in full force today.The Ten Commandments are listed below:

  1. Thou shalt have no other gods before me
  2. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image
  3. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain
  4. Remember the Sabbath day and keep it holy
  5. Honor thy father and thy mother
  6. Thou shalt not kill
  7. Thou shalt not commit adultery
  8. Thou shalt not steal
  9. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor
  10. Thou shalt not covet any thing that is thy neighbor’s
Copyright © 2024 Understanding Mormonism. All Rights Reserved.
This website is not owned by or affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (sometimes called the Mormon or LDS Church). The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. The views expressed by individual users are the responsibility of those users and do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. For the official Church websites, please visit or

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This