Select Page

Apostles Current

Current Mormon Apostles

The Quorum of the Twelve Apostles is made up of twelve righteous men, who are high priests of the Mormon Church. They perform their duties full-time with basic support from the Church. They hold all the keys of the priesthood, along with the prophet and the First Presidency.

Boyd K. Packer (President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Mormon ApostlesBoyd Kenneth Packer was born on September 10, 1924 in Brigham City, Utah. He was the tenth of eleven children born to Ira and Emma Packer and was the first of their children to be born in a hospital. He grew up as a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormon Church) and was baptized into the Church as a child. As a young boy he suffered from (Read more).

L. Tom Perry (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

L. Tom Perry was born on August 5, 1922 in Logan, Utah. He was the oldest boy. His parents were strong members of the Mormon Church and encouraged their children to participate by involving them in their callings. Elder Perry said of his family, “Growing up in the home I was in, it was hard not to have a testimony; it was woven into our lives by our parents.” (Read more).

Russell M. Nelson (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Russell M. Nelson was born on September 9, 1924, to Marion C. and Edna Anderson Nelson. All eight of his great-grandparents joined the Church in Europe, immigrated to Utah, and settled in the town of Ephraim. Their courage and commitment have inspired similar feelings in successive generations.  (Read more…)

Dallin H. Oaks (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Dallin H. Oaks was born in Provo, Utah on August 12, 1932. His father died of tuberculosis when he was only eight years old. Just three years after his father’s death Elder Oaks began working to help his mother. His first job was to sweep at a radio repair shop. This first job led the young boy to become interested in radios. Before he was sixteen years old he had (Read more).

M. Russell Ballard (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Melvin Russell Ballard was born in Salt Lake City, Utah on October 8, 1928. He was the only boy with three sisters. In 1948 he was called to serve a mission to England. He was a counselor in the mission presidency and served honorably. He returned in 1950 and met Barbara Bowen at a dance held at the University of Utah. They dated for eleven months. (Read more).

Richard G. Scott (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Richard Gordon Scott was sustained to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormon Church) on October 1, 1988 and was ordained on October 6, 1988, filling the vacancy left after the death of Elder Marion G. Romney. Elder Scott was born on November 7, 1928 to Kenneth Leroy and Mary Whittle Scott (Read more).

Robert D. Hales (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Robert Dean Hales was sustained to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on April 2, 1994 and ordained an apostle on April 7, 1994. He was born on August 24, 1932 to John Rulon and Vera Marie Holbrook Hales in New York City, New York. The gospel was the center of family life (Read more).

Jeffrey R. Holland (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Jeffrey R. Holland was born on December 3, 1940 and grew up in St. George, Utah. As a boy he enjoyed sports, especially baseball. Elder Holland once stated, “I played on every kind of team that could have been assembled.” He attended Dixie High School and was on the state championship football and basketball teams. He received letters for football, basketball, track, and (Read more).

David A. Bednar (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

David Allen Bednar was born on June 15, 1952. He grew up with a mother who was strong in the Mormon Church and a father who was not a member but faithfully went to Church with his family and joined in Church functions. “Throughout his youth and even from the mission field, Elder Bednar would ask his father, ‘Dad, when are you going to be baptized? The answer was, (Read more).

Quentin L. Cook (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Elder Quentin L. Cook was born, September 8th, 1940 in Logan, Utah. In 1960, Elder Cook was called to go on a mission to England where he served, preaching the gospel of Jesus Christ, until 1962. After returning from his mission, Elder Cook went on to earn a bachelor’s degree in political science from Utah State University in 1963 and then a juris doctorate from Stanford University in 1966. (Read more…)

D. Todd Christofferson (Quorum of the Twelve Apostles)

Elder David Todd Christofferson is the second most recent member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, the second-highest governing body of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He was sustained in that position on April 5, 2008. Elder Christofferson addressed the general Church membership and welcomed friends of other faiths in the Sunday morning session of the 178 Annual General Conference of the Church. (Read more…)

Neil L. Andersen

Neil L. Andersen was called to be an apostle on April 4, 2009, to fill the vacancy left by the passing of apostle Joseph B. Wirthlin.  Elder Andersen has a long history of service in the Church. (Read more…)

Copyright © 2024 Understanding Mormonism. All Rights Reserved.
This website is not owned by or affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (sometimes called the Mormon or LDS Church). The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. The views expressed by individual users are the responsibility of those users and do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. For the official Church websites, please visit or

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This