Select Page

Jesus Life

Life of Jesus Christ

Following is a brief chronology of the major events in the life of Jesus Christ. This chronology is put together based upon the information found in the King James Bible. The information comes mainly from the four gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. There are in the gospels a few discrepancies. This chronology simply lists the events given in the gospels and does not discuss which account is most correct.

Jesus Christ MormonApproximately A.D. 1

Birth of Jesus, shepherds told of His birth, and the naming of Jesus (see Luke 2:6-7, 2:8-20, 2:21 and Matthew 1:25)

Eight days old

Jesus’ presentation in the temple (see Luke 2:22-39)

12 years old

Passover at Jerusalem; teaching in the temple (see Luke 2:51-52)

Approximately A.D. 30

Baptism and temptations of Jesus Christ (see Matthew 3:13-17 and 4:1-11, Mark 1:9-11 and 1:12-13, Luke 3:21-22 and 4:1-13, John 1:32-34)

Miracle at Cana (see John 2:1-11)

Approximately A.D. 31

Calling of the Twelve Apostles (see Matthew 10:1-4, Mark 3:13-19, Luke 6:12-16)

Sermon on the Mount (see Matthew 5, 6, 7; Luke 6:17-49)

Approximately A.D. 33  Last Week of Jesus Christ’s Life

Sixth day before Passover

Travels to Jerusalem for Passover (see John 11:55-57)

Fifth day before Passover

The Triumphal Entry (see Matthew 21:6-11, Mark 11:7-11, Luke 19:35-38, John 12:12-18)

Jesus Christ weeps over Jerusalem (see Luke 19:41-44)

Fourth day before Passover

Priests challenge Jesus’ authority, Jesus tells many parables (see Matthew 21:23-46, Mark 11:27-33, Luke 20:1-8)

Second day before Passover

Jesus Christ prophesies of His crucifixion (see Matthew 26:2)

Judas conspires to betray Christ (see Matthew 26:14-16, Mark 14:10-11, Luke 22:1-6)

Day before Passover

Christ institutes the Sacrament (see Matthew 26:26-29, Mark 14:22-25, Luke 22:15-20)

Retires to Gethsemane and performs the Atonement (see Matthew 26:30 and 26:36-46, Mark 14:32-42, Luke 22:40-46)

Judas’ betrayal (see Matthew 26:47-50, Mark 14:43-46, Luke 22:47-48, John 18:2-3)


Jesus Christ’s hearing before Pilate (see Matthew 27:2 and 27:11-14, Mark 15:1-5, Luke 23:1-6, John 18:28-38)

The Crucifixion of Jesus Christ (see Matthew 27:35-44, Mark 15:24-33, Luke 23:32-43, John 19:18-22)

Death of Jesus Christ (see Matthew 27:46-50, Mark 15:37, Luke 23:46, John 19:28-30)

Three days after death

Jesus Christ’s Resurrection (see Matthew 28, Luke 24)

Ascension (see Mark 16: 19-20, Luke 24: 50-53)

Mormons believe that Jesus Christ truly was the Son of God, that He atoned for the sins of mankind, and was resurrected on the third day.

Copyright © 2024 Understanding Mormonism. All Rights Reserved.
This website is not owned by or affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (sometimes called the Mormon or LDS Church). The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. The views expressed by individual users are the responsibility of those users and do not necessarily represent the position of the Church. For the official Church websites, please visit or

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This