Understanding Mormonism Rotating Header Image

Pearl Great Price

The Pearl of Great Price

The Pearl of Great Price is one of the four standard works of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. There are four major sections of the Pearl of Great Price: the Book of Moses, the Book of Abraham, the writings of Joseph Smith, and the Articles of Faith.The Book of Moses was a revelation Joseph Smith received while working on a translation of the Bible. He learned what Moses had been taught when he spoke to God face to face. Moses saw the future of God’s people, and God told him His plans concerning His children.

Book of MormonFollowing the Book of Moses is the Book of Abraham. In 1835, a man named Michael Chandler came to Ohio with an exhibit of four Egyptian mummies and some rolls of papyrus with ancient writings on them. The Prophet Joseph Smith looked at the writings and was informed by the Spirit that they were about Joseph in Egypt and Abraham. The Church decided to purchase the mummies and papyrus rolls. With Oliver Cowdery and William Phelps working as scribes, Joseph Smith translated one of the papyrus rolls. This roll told of Abraham and a vision Abraham had where he spoke to Jesus Christ and learned of the pre-mortal life, the creation of the earth, and Abraham’s purpose as a prophet.

The writings of Joseph Smith have two major parts. The first part is the Joseph Smith Translation of Matthew 24. Joseph Smith was inspired by God to correct some portions of the New Testament. The next section, Joseph Smith History, tells of important events in the life of Joseph Smith that pertain to the gospel. It tells of his first vision, how he obtained the gold plates and translated them, and how the priesthood was restored through heavenly messengers.

The Articles of Faith are the last part of the Pearl of Great Price. Joseph Smith wrote them in response to a letter from John Wentworth, who wanted to know the main principles and doctrines of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.